Uganda through the eyes of Monica Wakio

As part of the Lapid Leaders Experience, we spent one week in Kampala. One word describes the one week, ‘interesting’. We left Kenya on a Sunday at 6am and arrived the Kenya-Uganda border at around 6pm, only to get stuck in the border for a while. Why? We did not have passport size photos and ID photocopies. Sad. Uh! For over 30 minutes, we hustled to get these documents. The driver was very mad at us. I don’t how he managed to be calm later.

Eventually we arrived in the beautiful land of Uganda.  The greenery was breathtaking, the weather was very different and just incase we did not know that we were not in Kenya anymore, our phones stopped working.  The data bundles purchased from Kenya were rendered useless.

_MG_0645

On our way to Uganda

At some point I slept in the bus only to be woken up by my colleagues jeers at River Nile. Guys were taking photos, though at night.  You know the wows, haha. We were so fascinated to see such a big river, God’s blessings.

At around 10pm, we arrived our destination, Christian University of Uganda. We were thoroughly checked by the security guards who incidentally had guns. The university was very cal, and the students were dressed decently. We rested in readiness of our packed week.

My instructor Esther Mwaniki, the CEO Lapid Leaders Africa, “Monica Wakio, I want you to do write the story of Uganda” . She had instructed. That made me keen all way through.  I kept looking. I was curious. I knew I will be answerable.

Bananas the staple food and other intriguing facts about Uganda
Bananas are the staple food and are served in every meal. I was intrigued by the different ways bananas can be prepared;from roasting them, frying, boiling, to banana cookies to wine from the banana leaves,I know its hard to believe. In my country we do have bananas in surplus but we do not consume them as much we prefer selling.

As I saw how bananas had been used innovatively, i was very challenged. We could as well utilize the available resources we have as a source of income and food.

The second thing that intrigued me about our neighbors was that supermarkets have adopted the use of biodegradable disposable bags. This has significantly reduced pollution. This moved me, when will we as a country begin to take serious steps towards environment conservation?

_MG_0913

After a meeting with the Finance Director, EABL-Uganda

My last intrigue came from the buses.  Every morning we took a bus to the various meetings that we were attending. I was intrigued by how polite the conductors were in comparison to those at home. They handled people with a lot of respect; they did not rush, neither push for money like in my country. We gave money once we alighted. That was so beautiful. They made sure we enjoyed the service first.

In Uganda most people speak English. Despite the fact that they have Kiganda as their and other local languages, they have all gone the extra mile and learnt good English. We did not struggle with communication because even when talking to boda boda guys, they could spoke fluent English. In my country, this would be very hard.

Uganda is a great land, that they have plenty of food, fertile land and a good variety of produce, makes it an interesting land. They also have a rich culture. At the end of the trip, I knew that would want to invest in Uganda. Africa is a Continent with many beautiful countries. To unearthing many more gold-mines in this continent. Webale nyo Uganda for giving us such a rich experience.

 

Leave a Reply

